Posted by: commonsresource | July 14, 2010

Fun & Games – achieving a level playing field for open source software in public administrations

I was very interested to come across yesterday’s post by Gijs Hillenius on OSOR.EU entitled Kroes on open source in public administrations: “Attitudes are changing”. In some ways, Neelie Kroes’ (Vice-President of the European Commission) sentiments are a natural extension of her stated position on the EC Digital Agenda discussed in my A pony for every child – the politics of open source software post from last month. That being said, I am particularly intrigued by the reported quote from her upcoming video speech to an open source software conference that “We do not yet have a true level playing field, but thankfully attitudes are changing.”

While I will be taking a short break from daily blogging (and giving you a short break from your daily reading!), I do want to let you know that I am working on a couple on initiatives to help achieve this level playing field that I will be announcing on my return.  I also have a number of somewhat controversial thoughts on what this level playing field should look like which I will also be sharing. In the meantime, I look forward to some fun & games on the personal front so that I can return to this blog fresh and refreshed and ready to tackle the fun & games of achieving a level playing field for open source software in public administration at all levels of government.


Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Billy Bonkoski, commons re:source™. commons re:source™ said: Fun & Games – new blog post on achieving a level playing field for open source software in public administrations – http://bit.ly/cC7uXr […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

