Posted by: commonsresource | February 23, 2010

What’s in a name?

Mark Radcliffe, in a recent post on his Law & Life: Silicon Valley blog, gave a “thumbs up” to Red Hat for its www.opensource.com initiative.  While I fully agree with Mark’s comments and the importance and promise of this project, I can’t help thinking that the website name is not up to the task ahead.  It is certainly true that the open source software model is “being viewed as a model for collaboration beyond software”.  But it is important to keep in mind that the open source software model is itself merely a lead example of the underlying phenomenon of “commons sourcing”.   Rather than clutter the landscape with confusing phrases like the “open source way”, I encourage Mark, Red Hat, and others to embrace the commons sourcing term.  I would be pleased to contribute my domain: www.commonssourcing.com to the cause!


Responses

  1. […] please pardon me for not posting for a while, I would like to take you back to my post entitled What’s in a name? In that very early post, I both commended Red Hat for its www.opensource.com initiative and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

